Laserbrain Studios

Games Forum Blog Contact

Author Topic: [Updated January 23rd] Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!  (Read 2214 times)

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
[Updated January 23rd] Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« on: January 21, 2016, 10:12:09 PM »
Here's the release candidate for v0.7.2. Please let me know if you have any issues. And also please confirm if any previous issued you had have been fixed. Thanks! ;D

UPDATE January 23rd:
- Fixed movie player menu crashing when there are more than 90 movie files in the movie folder.
- Fixed automatically switching positions with NPCs. Now doesn't automatically switch positions with mission characters as well as stunned and captured characters.
- The first time you land on a base where you have to deliver a message or item to a character, a message will tell you about using 'L' to look for the mission character.


Windows XP or later (8.9 MB)
Mac OS X 10.5 or later (13.8 MB)
Linux 32-bit (7.4 MB)
Linux 64-bit (7.4 MB)


Changelog:

- Fixed attacking character with a blocked path or unable to find a path to you saving up time units and then unleashing a flurry of attacks.
- Fixed bug when calculating time left before mission expires.
- Fixed mission characters spawning in inaccessible spot on Basin.
- Fixed "Pirate/Confed Controlled" being written on top of "(Casino Ship)" for Adavene.
- Fixed an issue with the window size not setting correctly when going from fullscreen to window.
- You can now pay your fines at Port Newton Capital Planet.
- You now automatically switch positions with random NPCs without having to hold down 'S'.
- Added keypad support for setting hand grenade delay.
- If you're about to jump into a system with nowhere to refuel and you only have 1 jump fuel left, the game will now inform you that you will be stranded and ask for confirmation before you jump.
- You now start the game with an afterburner.
- Added switching between windowed/fullscreen with Alt+Enter back in (was accidentally removed in previous version).
- More precise sleep time between frames.
- Added info in the options menu that informs you that having v-sync on will cap the game speed.
- Changed the introduction dialogue to the Merchants' Guild to make it clear that you have to buy the commodities yourself.
- On Linux, changed all the game's file paths back to the game folder, as there were issues with using best practice file paths.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2016, 11:22:57 PM by Christian Knudsen »

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2016, 09:20:09 PM »
Here's the release candidate for v0.7.2. Please let me know if you have any issues.

I've had some issues with switching between fullscreen and windowed mode (after Alt+Tab long time black screen until content was displayed) but it might be my local problem with security software (firewall with application control).

Real issue is "Movie player" - it doesn't work. When I've tried to use it then I saw this message:



Every time I'll try it's the same error message.

So far no other problems but I don't have much time right now.
Genuine Lifelike Individual

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2016, 09:42:50 PM »
Hmmm. Switching between fullscreen and windowed mode is instantaneous on my system. Let's see if other people also report that issue.

As to the movie player crash, you wouldn't happen to have more than 90 .asc files in the /movie directory, would you?

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2016, 10:12:31 AM »
Hmmm. Switching between fullscreen and windowed mode is instantaneous on my system. Let's see if other people also report that issue.

Probably my "firewall" must learn how to deal with "new" application. Right now it works instantly.

As to the movie player crash, you wouldn't happen to have more than 90 .asc files in the /movie directory, would you?

Exactly 91 ASC files... ;D
With 90 only it works.

- You now automatically switch positions with random NPCs without having to hold down 'S'.

OK, it works... but then how to interact with NPCs?
It was mentioned here:
http://www.laserbrainstudios.com/forum/index.php?topic=2200.msg14962#msg14962
... that it's not possible "in old way".

And how to interact with captives?

Shouldn't "S" key work as opposite to previous behavior? Like: "Hold S to talk/interact with NPCs?"... ???

Other thing: Quine 5000 is cleaned with missions - all unfinished missions are lost. Is it normal while "re-initializing universe" (commodities and missions)?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2016, 10:15:07 AM by GLI »
Genuine Lifelike Individual

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2016, 11:16:24 AM »
The movie player will only show the first 90 .asc files. But in the loop where it reads the files, I have it check that the file counter number is < 91 ... and then I immediately increase it by 1! And then it of course crashes when trying to read file number 91. Sometimes I want to slap my past self.

The way the automatically switching positions with NPCs was supposed to work was that you only do it automatically with NPCs that don't have any dialogue and will just brush you off, so it wouldn't automatically make you switch positions with mission character and fixers and such. But I messed that up. I've tracked down the issue, though, and it shouldn't be too hard to fix.

Yeah, when missions are reinitialized (this happens when a new base has been added to the game), all current missions are wiped.

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2016, 01:38:33 PM »
The way the automatically switching positions with NPCs was supposed to work was that you only do it automatically with NPCs that don't have any dialogue and will just brush you off, so it wouldn't automatically make you switch positions with mission character and fixers and such. But I messed that up. I've tracked down the issue, though, and it shouldn't be too hard to fix.

Don't forget about "Help" screen. Information there is for old behavior when player must hold "S" to switch positions with NPCs. I hope it will be "simply reverted" - hold "S" to talk/interact.
Genuine Lifelike Individual

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2016, 08:09:14 PM »
I hope it will be "simply reverted" - hold "S" to talk/interact.

It won't. A lot of people will be confused about how to talk to people if you have to hold down a button to do so. Having you automatically switch positions with NPCs that you have no business with anyway, but still talk automatically to characters you do have a reason to talk to is more intuitive and user-friendly.

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2016, 08:23:18 PM »
Having you automatically switch positions with NPCs that you have no business with anyway, but still talk automatically to characters you do have a reason to talk to is more intuitive and user-friendly.

Sooo... NPC cuffed during fight will be marked as "reason to talk", right? When uncuffed they will no longer talk "please, don't kill me", right? Oh boy! I will miss those rides on pirate bases... ;)
Genuine Lifelike Individual

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2016, 08:27:08 PM »
Sooo... NPC cuffed during fight will be marked as "reason to talk", right? When uncuffed they will no longer talk "please, don't kill me", right? Oh boy! I will miss those rides on pirate bases... ;)

Yeah, you will automatically interact with captives when walking into them. NPCs that are fleeing you, you will automatically switch positions with.

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: [Updated January 23rd] Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2016, 11:23:26 PM »
OP has been updated with a new version of 0.7.2!

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: [Updated January 23rd] Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2016, 04:12:24 PM »
OK! So far, so good. Now we're wait for replies of Linux and MacOSX users... ;)
Genuine Lifelike Individual

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2016, 10:30:01 PM »
Yeah, when missions are reinitialized (this happens when a new base has been added to the game), all current missions are wiped.

I was pretty sure I've got captives in old save but I wasn't able to find them until I've run old version of the game. It occurs that re-initialization in 0.7.2 removed all captives from my ship. Is it normal or just a bug?
(save on Mega)
Genuine Lifelike Individual

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: [Updated January 23rd] Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2016, 10:58:38 PM »
Had to check the code... Yes, part of the reinitialization code removes characters on your ship. I don't remember exactly why I did this (it's quite a few years ago that I coded that!), but it was probably to avoid being stuck with a mission character on board your ship that you couldn't get rid of or something along those lines.

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: [Updated January 23rd] Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2016, 11:31:15 PM »
Had to check the code... Yes, part of the reinitialization code removes characters on your ship. I don't remember exactly why I did this (it's quite a few years ago that I coded that!), but it was probably to avoid being stuck with a mission character on board your ship that you couldn't get rid of or something along those lines.

For "Taxi" missions it could be problematic to get rid of passenger when mission was removed during "re-initialization".

Captives (for Bounty Missions and others) are different story because we can sell them. Right?
Genuine Lifelike Individual

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: [Updated January 23rd] Ascii Sector v0.7.2 testing!
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2016, 01:35:09 PM »
Right. I'm not going to change the code, though, since I'd rather not mess with something I coded that long ago. I'll just have to trust that I did it like I did back then for a reason. ;D