Laserbrain Studios

Games Forum Blog Contact

Author Topic: Turrets and AI  (Read 3093 times)

irish_merchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Turrets and AI
« on: November 28, 2012, 02:36:28 PM »
Hey, somewhat of a noob to the ASCII Secotr, so I guess it *is* possible I'm doing something wrongh but I don't think so.

I'm running the game through wine loader in Ubuntu, everything works perfectly so far as I can tell, but I recently upgraded to a Ulysses and after fitting a rear turret, AI controller and capacitor, it still wont fire. Even when I take control of it, I can't fire any shots.

Anyone had similar issues or am I just missing something?

Thanks guys.

Also, Christian, best game I've played in a long time.
I have never felt the level of pride I felt when I bought my Ulysses :)

Iltsuger

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 908
    • View Profile
Re: Turrets and AI
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2012, 03:41:19 PM »
I'll be honest, I haven't played from the start in a long time. All my upgrades were in place before a few updates rolled in, so maybe there's a problem for everyone, but I haven't noticed anyone else with this issue. I guess this is just my way of saying hello, without being intrinsically helpful! :)

There is a toggle for the turrets that turns them on, one of the function keys. Has that already been checked?

Christian Knudsen

  • Administrator
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
    • View Profile
Re: Turrets and AI
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2012, 03:42:28 PM »
Do you have a gun equipped on the turret?

EDIT: Also, I'm curious; why are you running the game through WINE instead of using the native Linux version?

irish_merchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Turrets and AI
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2012, 10:48:31 AM »
As in did I purchase a turret for the slot? Yes. As soon as I upgraded to the Ulysses I bought a turret and an AI controller and mounted them on the rear turret slot.

And as for running the game through WINE, I don't know. I had played a few other games that weren't working natively and had just downloaded maybe three or four games as exe's, guess I wasn't really thinking. I'm going to try the native version now!

I'll let you know what happens.

And Hi :) Really glad to have found ASCII Sector! Not only deep and lot's of replay value, but the quest editor is a fantastic idea. One of the best game experiences I've had!

And yes, I have toggled the turret AI. I can't even fire it manually. I'm assuming it's the space key to fire just like normal?

*EDIT*

Ok, so I presume that using the same save isn't an issue, otherwise I'll be saving up all week for a new Ulysses :p

Turret still didn't work, so I will try a new save as well, and I also noticed that there was a nav beacon embedded in the jump from Plexus Minor to Primeval 2. In fact in the map for that system (Plexus Minor) Two nav points showed up as pink in the Quine...

Additionally, the info for Adavene has a lower case "i" in between the words Pirate and Controlled. I'm assuming it's part of the words "casino" but I cant see that on mine at all. Pirate Controlled is directly beneath "Adavene"

Anyway, sorry to bring all this up in my first post! Feel like a complainer, but I'm leaving out all the constant praise I've been heaping on it and you since I started playing with it about a week and a half ago :p
I have never felt the level of pride I felt when I bought my Ulysses :)

GLI

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Turrets and AI
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2012, 11:07:37 AM »
Quote from: "irish_merchant"
As in did I purchase a turret for the slot? Yes. As soon as I upgraded to the Ulysses I bought a turret and an AI controller and mounted them on the rear turret slot.


Don't forget to buy a gun/cannon FOR turret. Turret itself is just a "hull/skeleton"... :eeeee:
Genuine Lifelike Individual

irish_merchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Turrets and AI
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2012, 11:16:13 AM »
F**K That's probably it! I assumed turret was the name for the basic automated weapon. Never occurred to me! Really sorry for all that haha.

Well that is one way to introduce myself to the community, really feel like a twat now!

Problem solved, sorry Christian! Haha. Although that stuff about nav beacons etc still happened!
I have never felt the level of pride I felt when I bought my Ulysses :)

Cthulhu

  • Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 1371
    • View Profile
Re: Turrets and AI
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2012, 04:58:20 PM »
@irish_merchant We all have moments like that.

Iltsuger

  • Hidden Asset Alpha Tester
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 908
    • View Profile
Re: Turrets and AI
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2012, 11:23:19 PM »
Yes. In a similar regard, never forget to check your fuel gauge :)